APPENDIX C

Forest Heath & St Edmundsbury councils

West Suffolk working together

Future Governance Steering Group: Terms of Reference (Amended)

Amended Terms of Reference for the Future Governance Steering Group (as indicated by tracked changes)

Objective

 To advise and support the Leaders of Forest Heath District Council and St Edmundsbury Borough Council <u>on the arrangements being</u> <u>implemented to support the creation of a single Council for West</u> <u>Suffolkon the technical decisions required as the relevant Councils</u> proceed in reviewing their governance arrangements

Terms of Reference

- To advise on the development of the final business case for future governance to be approved by Council in September 2017, ensuring that the business case is robust and has given due consideration to relevant material factors
- To advise on recommendations <u>Councils</u> it should make to the Secretary of State and / or Local Government Boundary Commission for England on the technical requirements for new future governance arrangements
- To oversee the development of an <u>implementation programme</u> plan to <u>support the creation of a single Councilimplement the future governance</u> arrangements, and monitor the delivery of the programme <u>implementation plan</u>
- <u>To support the principles in developing new governance and decision</u> <u>making structures (the constitutional detail being reserved to the Joint</u> <u>Constitution Working Group to resolve</u>)
- To make recommendations to the Leaders of the Councils accordingly

Powers

3. The Technical Steering Group's role is advisory and thus will not have any delegated decision making responsibility.

Membership

- 4. Membership shall be comprised of 6 members, three to be nominated by the Leader of each Council. The following members (unless otherwise appointed to the Group) shall be invited to each meeting as observers, and whilst they shall not take part in any formal voting at the group, they will be provided copies of papers presented to each meeting and be allowed to participate in group debates at the discretion of the Chairman:
 - The Chairmen of the Overview and Scrutiny Committees of each Council; (or their Vice-Chairmen where they are unable to attend)
 - The Leaders of each recognised minority group (or their notified Deputies where they are unable to attend)
 - Members of each Cabinet
- 5. The Leader of each Council may also appoint one named substitute member of the Committee.

Chairman and Vice-Chairman

6. The Chairman and Vice-Chairman shall be elected at the first meeting of the Group by a majority vote of the group members. Where the Chairman is a member of one Council, the Vice-Chairman shall be a member of the other Council. They shall hold office for a period of 6 months, and except where the members of the Group agree, the Vice-Chairman shall usually be expected to become the Chairman of the Group 6 months after his nomination as Vice-Chairman, the purpose being that each Council shall take it in turn to Chair the Group.

Quorum

7. The quorum level for the Group shall be 3, to include at least 1 member from each Council.

Access to Information

- 8. As a non-decision making body, the normal Access to Information Rules do not apply to the working group.
- 9. Officers should endeavour to make clear to members of the Group where matters under discussion are confidential, and should be treated by members privy to the information as such.

Frequency

10. Meetings will be scheduled according to the demands of the work programme and decision making framework. It should be expected that this will require meetings on at least a monthly basis.

Table 1: Membership as at [INSERT DATE]

Future Governance Steering Group (6) (Group established 30 May 2017)

(Not politically balanced) (To make recommendations to the Leaders of FHDC and SEBC) (The following Members to be invited to meetings as observers:

- The Chairmen of both FHDC and SEBC Overview and Scrutiny Committees (or Vice-Chairmen in their absence
- The Leaders of each recognised minority group (or notified Deputies in their absence
- Members of both FHDC and SEBC Cabinets)

(Chairman/Vice-Chairman to alternate between each authority after a period of office of six months, after which the Vice-Chairman will become Chairman and vice-versa, or by other arrangements, as agreed by the Group)

FHDC		
Political Group	Full Member	Substitute Members
Conservative	Bowman, Ruth (Chairman)	Burt, Rona
Conservative	Busuttil, Louis	
Conservative	Harvey, Brian	
SEBC		
Political Group	Full Member	Substitute Members
Conservative	Bull, Carol (Vice-Chairman)	Fox, Paula
Conservative	Roach, David	
Conservative	Thorndyke, Jim	